Officers of the Society are referred to in various places in these pages according to their responsibilities. Here for your convenience they are listed together.

Chairman: Ms Janet Axworthy
Honorary Secretary: Mr Alan Williams
Honorary Treasurer & Membership Secretary: Mr Ian Candlin
Honorary Newsletter Editor: Mr Dan Garner
Fieldwork co-ordinator: Dr Kevin Cootes
General email address:

Please send correspondence to the Honorary Secretary:
Mr Alan Williams, 20 The Yonne, City Walls Road, Chester CH1 2NH.

The Society’s Building Committee outside the entrance to the newly erected Grosvenor Museum

The Rev W Massie, Rector of St Mary on the Hill in Chester, who founded the Society in 1849

Robert Newstead (1859-1947), Professor of Entomology at Liverpool Museum and leading figure in the Society between the Wars